fbpx

How to Close or Delete a Google My Business Listing?

Photo of a phone showing a Google My Business listing on Google Maps.

Are you not operating your business anymore? Or, for some other reason, do you need to delete a Google My Business listing? Let’s see how you can do it!

First thing first, be aware that you can either choose to mark your business permanently closed or delete your listing.

Closing one or multiple listings on Google My Business

  1. Sign in to Google My Business on your computer.
  2. From the list of locations, select one or more locations that you want to close.
  3. On the toolbar above, click Actions, then click Mark as Permanently closed. If you see a three-dot menu icon, click that, then click Mark as permanently closed.

This action will stop the business from showing up in search unless people directly search for the company. If so, Google will show a “Permanently Closed” message on the listing.

Closing a listing from the mobile app

  1. Open the Google My Business app.
  2. If you have multiple locations, go to the location that you want to mark permanently closed.
  3. Tap Profile.
  4. Scroll down and tap Mark as permanently closed.
  5. In the dialogue that appears, tap Yes.
  6. Tap Save

The location will now appear as permanently closed on Google Maps and Search.

Why would you choose to mark your business as closed rather than delete it?

First of all, it is an easy way to keep your customers up-to-date. Your listing may have more visitors than your website, for example. And second of all, doing so makes it easier in the case you want, one day, to reopen your business, with all its data.

Delete a Google My Business listing

Ideally, you may mark your business as permanently closed before deleting it.

  1. Sign in to Google My Business on your computer.
  2. From the list of locations, select one or more locations that you want to close.
  3. On the toolbar above, click Actions, then click Permanently closed. If you see a three-dot menu icon, click that, then click Mark as permanently closed.
  4. In the dialogue that appears, click Remove location.

When you try to remove multiple listings at once, some locations may return an error. In this case, you must click into each business and remove each individually.

Be aware that there is no way to delete a business from Google’s index entirely.

Delete a location from Maps

If the steps below won’t work for you, you can request to delete it from Maps.

  1. On your computer, go to Google Maps
  2. Find the location.
  3. Click Suggest an edit.
  4. Mark the location as “Place is permanently closed or has never existed” and choose the appropriate reason.
  5. Click Submit.​

If Google approved your request, the suggested location would be removed from Maps.

Do you want to boost your online presence?

To get more qualified traffic, tell me about your challenges now!

Share this article

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

You will also like this posts

Continue your reading around the topic: How to Close or Delete a Google My Business Listing?

2 Responses

  1. Good tips, but what happens if the place on the map has been created by someone else ? And the info is wrong etc ?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

small_c_popup

Vous voulez obtenir plus de trafic qualifié?

Découvrons aujourd'hui comment je peux vous aider à relever vos défis numériques!

small_c_popup

Do you want to get more qualified traffic?

Let's find out today how I can help you meet your digital challenges!